Stage 1 fire restrictions in place for unincorporated Douglas CountyContinue Reading

Other Governments in Douglas County

City of Castle Pines – Incorporated Feb. 12, 2008, Castle Pines is located just 20 miles south of Denver in Douglas County and is home to about 10,500 people. The 21st century city has a vision that balances the preservation of the community’s history with growth that enhances the quality of life for its citizens.

City of Lone Tree – The City of Lone Tree was incorporated in November 1995 and became a Colorado Home Rule City on May 5, 1998. It is governed by Council-Manager form of government where Council sets the City policy and the Manager is responsible for City operations and has an estimated population of approximately 11,385 residents.

Highlands Ranch Metro District– The Highlands Ranch Metro District is the local government serving the unincorporated community of Highlands Ranch, CO. Founded in 1981, this 22,000-acre master planned community located in northern Douglas County, has a population of 92,000.  An elected board of seven directors serves the community and is responsible for the organization’s budget. Board meetings are held the last Tuesday of each month (with rare exceptions due to holiday schedules) at the District Office Building, 62 Plaza Drive. The public is encouraged to attend.

Partnership of Douglas County Governments – The Partnership represents 296,000 Douglas County citizens in the unincorporated and incorporated areas of the county. Almost 90% of the population lives in urban designated areas of the County. In one-on-one conversations, service transactions, and community meetings, Partnership members are face-to-face, listening and responding to constituent needs every single day. We know our communities and their priorities and we are willing to share what we know in the interest of working with one another as a team, acting in the public interest and focused on the greater good of Douglas County, Colorado.

Town of Castle RockCastle Rock, the County seat, is a historic mining and ranching area that incorporated in 1881. Today, the Town’s council-manager form of government serves approximately 53,466 residents.

Town of Larkspur – The Larkspur area began as a resort and eventually was incorporated in 1979. It has a population of approximately 200 people.

Town of Parker – The Town of Parker was incorporated in 1981. The newly incorporated area encompassed approximately one square mile and included 285 residents. In the first decade of the Town’s history, the Town increased from one square mile to 13 square miles. Since incorporation, the population has increased from 285 to more than 47,000 today.