Holiday Office Closure - County offices closed on Monday, January 21Continue Reading

Cultural Council


The Douglas County Cultural Council (DCCC) serves the diverse citizenry of Douglas County by annually reviewing applications from Tier III organizations requesting SCFD funds. The DCCC makes funding recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners, specifying the distribution of cultural sales tax proceeds, as providing for the advancement and preservation of visual arts through the Art Encounters Public Art Program, performing arts, cultural history, natural history, and natural sciences.

For additional information please contact Kim Smith at 303-660-7347 or

Meeting Schedule

The Cultural Council generally meets the second Tuesday of each month. Upcoming meeting dates, locations, agendas and minutes are available online. Select Cultural Council as the Meeting Group from the drop-down menu on the left side of the page.


The DCCC consists of nine members who are appointed by the Douglas County Commissioners for a three-year term.

Current Members:

Vacant – District I –  (Applications in process)
Ada Anderson – District I
Mary Ann Evans  – District I
Betty Coll – District II
Jack Christensen – District II
Heidi Bowman – District II
Paul Coughlin – District III
Alexandra Harden – District III
Larry Perkins – District III

Application Information

Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD) Funds

The deadline to request SCFD funds for the 2018 program year was March 31, 2018.  Organizations interested in applying, must be deemed eligible by SCFD in order to apply.  Please visit SCFD’s website for information regarding the new eligibility criteria, the eligibility application, and all other grant materials.

View the SCFD boundaries in Douglas County.

2018-2019 SCFD Tier III Grant Fund Recipients