Holiday Office Closure - County offices closed on Monday, January 21Continue Reading

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee reviews the County’s financial statements and provides feedback on financial reporting and the annual audit, helping to strengthen the accountability, integrity and transparency in Douglas County. Audit committees are required for most public companies, but are not a requirement for governments. Douglas County, however, believes it is best practice to use one in its county governance.

For additional information please contact Andrew Copland, Finance Director at 303-660-7430 or

Meeting Schedule

The Audit Committee meets quarterly, or on an as-needed basis, at the Philip S. Miller Building in Castle Rock. Apart from its regularly scheduled meetings, the committee also meets once a year with the Board of County Commissioners. Click here to view upcoming meeting agendas and minutes.


Three regular members are appointed by Commissioner Districts.  Two at-large members, experienced finance professionals within the county, will also be appointed. All members serve three-year terms. While financial experience will not be required from the prospective regular members, it will be preferred as the level of complexity of governmental financial transactions is high.

Current Members:

Garth Farrend – District I – Parker
Philip Bonfanti – District II – Castle Rock
John Groom – District III – Highlands Ranch
Garrett Wilson – At-large – Castle Rock
Ivan “Brent” Hutchings – At-large – Castle Rock

Application Information