Stage 1 Fire Restrictions in place for Unincorporated Douglas CountyContinue Reading

Open Space Advisory Committee

The Open Space Advisory Committee make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners on the disbursement of funds from the Open Space, Trails, and Parks Fund.

Meeting Schedule

The Open Space Advisory Committee meets the first Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m. at the Philip S. Miller Building in Castle Rock


Nine regular members are appointed and serve three-year teams.  Three members are appointed by each Commissioner District; one member each from Castle Rock, Lone Tree and Parker, one member from the Douglas County Planning Commission, one member with a professional background in Land Planning and one at-large member.  Municipal representatives are appointed by their respective Town Councils.  All other members are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.

Current Members:

Tobey Stein – District I – Parker
Kathie Shandro – District II – Castle Rock
Jay Sage – District III – Highlands Ranch
**Vacant – Appointment by Planning Commission in process**
Quinn Kayser-Cochran – Professional Planner
Ron Claussen – Government Representative Castle Rock
Gregg Sprigg – Government Representative Lone Tree
Brian O’Malley – Government Representative Parker
Mark Weston – Emeritus Member
Mark Giebel –  At Large – Highlands Ranch