County Commissioners

About the Board of County Commissioners

Douglas County’s three-member Board of County Commissioners is the main policy-making body in the County and works to represent the interests of the citizens of Douglas County at local, state, and national levels. Commissioners are elected at large from one of three geographic districts for four-year staggered terms. In Douglas County, Commissioners are limited to serving two four-year terms.


Commissioner Laydon
Commissioner Abe Laydon, District I
Commissioner Teal
Commissioner George Teal, District II
Commissioner Thomas
Commissioner Lora Thomas, District III

Colorado State Statutes designate counties to function as an administrative arm of State government and to serve as the legislative, policy-making, and administrative body governing unincorporated areas of the County.  Click here to view other elected officials in Douglas County.

County Commissioners are responsible under state statute for health, safety, and welfare of the citizens including law enforcement, which includes supporting the court system and the district attorney function as well as providing jail facilities through the Sheriff; human services, including administering and carrying out virtually all programs overseen by the Colorado Department of Human Services. Counties may provide health services, although their ability to do so depends on resources available. In Douglas County, health services are provided through a partnership with Tri-County Health.

Commissioners have a responsibility to provide leadership to County operations through the adoption of the annual budget, which includes all departments, commissions, and other spending agencies funded by county appropriations, including law enforcement, and human services. The Board of Douglas County Commissioners also serves as the Board of Adjustment, the Board of Human Services, and Liquor Licensing Authority, and the Board of Social Services.

Other powers, authorities, and statutory responsibilities of the Board of County Commissioners include, but are not limited to, the following:

    • intergovernmental collaboration in the interest of problem-solving and long-range planning
    • manage the business and concerns of the county and care for county property, including the acquisition and disposal of county property
    • road and bridge construction, maintenance and repair
    • establishment of voting precincts
    • weed control
    • adoption of subdivision regulations
    • liquor licensing
    • enter into contracts, receive grants and gifts
    • levy taxes, subject to state tax revenue limitations
    • incur debt, either revenue debt (based solely on a specified revenue stream) or general obligation debt, which constitutes a general obligation to repay the debt
    • accurate and timely reporting to state and federal agencies as required