Stage 1 fire restrictions in place for unincorporated Douglas CountyContinue Reading

Physical School Safety & Protection Funding Committee

The Board of County Commissioners held a Special Work Session, on Tuesday, July 16 in Castle Rock to hear funding recommendations and status reports regarding plans for the $13.3 million. Watch video.  View the Committee’s presentation to the Board of Douglas County Commissioners.  Read More…


To view comments, please visit Project File MI2019-008.

Exactly three weeks after the STEM School shooting the Board of Douglas County Commissioners, at their May 28 public hearing, unanimously approved a resolution appropriating $13.3 million for school security and mental health services for students in Douglas County.

Of the $13 million, the Board appropriated $10 million of unassigned General Fund balance as one-time funding for school safety, including entry-way security technology in schools, and mental health services for children.

Additional resolutions adopted by the Board establish two committees charged with making recommendations for the expenditure of the one-time $10 million – the Physical School Safety & Protection Funding Committee and the Supportive Mental Health for Students Funding Committee.

The Board recognizes the importance of receiving input from key partners, including the Douglas County School District (DCSD), charter and private schools, Douglas County law enforcement, and citizens with expertise in physical school safety and mental health.

The Board charged the Physical School Safety & Protection Funding Committee with making recommendations for the expenditure of the one-time $10 million set-aside.  This Committee shall provide recommendations for expenditures directly related to the physical security and protection of the school community and buildings.

This Committee shall consist of nine (9) members as follows:

  • Five (5) members appointed by the Board of County Commissioners
    • Clint Dorris – Citizen Appointee
    • Mike Dell’Orfano – South Metro Fire
    • Nicole Hunt – Citizen Appointee
    • Kory Nelson – Citizen Appointee
    • Steven Bradburn – Homeland Security
  • Two (2) members recommended by the Douglas County School Board
    • Rich Payne – DCSD Director of School Safety and Security
    • Lori Bachtel – SkyView Academy
  • Two (2) members recommended by Douglas County law enforcement agencies
    • Holly Nicholson – Kluth – Douglas County Undersheriff
    • Jack Cauley – Castle Rock Polic Chief

View Meeting Agendas / Minutes, click on the drop-down box and select the Physical School Safety and Protection Funding Committee.

This Committee will work in June 2019 with a goal to formulate its recommendations and supporting documentation to the Board of County Commissioners by July 3, 2019, with a possible extension to July 15, 2019.

This Committee will be disbanded no later than or shortly after the portion of the $10 million one-time funds dedicated for physical school security and protection are determined and any necessary follow-up related to accountability or outcomes is collected.